Resources and Attractions

Below is a list of local Markets, Plantations, Restaurants, and Golf Courses.

(If you are a business and would like to be included on this list, please let us know) 

 

Markets and Stores:

Labatut Grocery & Meat (225) 638-8521 • 401 Parent St.

 

His & Hers Fashions (225) 638-9676 238 • Hospital Rd.

Clothing, shoes & accessories.

 

Movie Palace (225) 638-7122 • 240 Hospital Road

 

Winn-Dixie Supermarke(225) 638-5130 • 420 Hospital Road

 

Wal-Mart (225) 638-8609 • 2050 False River Dr.

 

Restaurants:

Espresso, etc. (225) 618-8701 110 East Main Street • New Roads, LA 70760

The only coffee house in New Roads. They serve specialty coffees, smoothies, beignets, and soups.

 

Kelly’s Cajun Specialty Meats (225) 638-8435 1642 Hospital Road • New Roads, LA 70760

This specialty meat market also offers sit down & take-out lunch orders for hamburgers and poboys.

 

Ma Mama’s Restaurant (225) 618-2424 124 West Main Street • New Roads, LA 70760

Cajun Creole dining with homemade breads, pastries, and sauces.

 

Magnolia Express (225) 638-9954 506 Olinde Street • New Roads, LA 70760

Vintage diner style dining. Serves po-boys, hamburgers and beer are available.

 

Morel’s Restaurant & Antiques (225) 638-4057 210 Morrison Parkway • New Roads, LA 70760 www.morelsrestaurant.net

Serving food since 1926, Morel’s offers delicious waterfront dining.

 

Satterfield’s Riverwalk Restaurant (225) 638-5027 108 East Main Street • New Roads, LA 70760 www.satterfields.com

Scenic lakefront dining.  Serving appetizers, salads, sandwiches, and steaks.

 

Plantations:

Greenwood Plantation (225) 655-4475 St. Francisville, Louisiana www.greenwoodplantation.com

Antebellum plantation built in 1830

 

Myrtles Plantation (225) 635-6277 St. Francisville, Louisiana www.myrtlesplantation.com

Built circa 1796 it is one of America’s most haunted homes.   They offer history, mystery tours, full-service restaurant, 11 rooms and wedding services.

 

Houmas House Plantation (225) 473-9380 Darrow, Louisiana www.houmashouse.com

 

Oak Alley Plantation (225) 265-2151 Vacherie, Louisiana www.oakalleyplantation.com

Oak Alley Plantation has been called the “Grande Dame of the Great River Road”.  Tours, Group Lunches, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Weddings and Receptions.

 

Poplar Grove Plantation (225) 344-3913 Port Allen , Louisiana www.poplargroveplantation.com

A plantation home unlike any other.  An Oriental inspired pavilion built in New Orleans for an international exposition; it is the closest plantation home to Baton Rouge, located on the bank of the Mississippi River only minutes from Louisiana’s capital city.

 

White Hall Plantation (225)492-2110 Lettsworth, Louisiana www.whitehallplantationhouse.com

1840’s Greek Revival and Italianate style home on the banks of the Atchafalaya.  Available for private rental for weddings and receptions.

 

White Oak Plantation (225) 751-1882 Baton Rouge, Louisiana www.jfolse.com/whiteoak

Take a step back into the past and enjoy the experience of the Old South as you take a Plantation tour.

 

Golf Courses:

False River Golf & Country Club – 9-hole Golf course (225) 638-6309 13875 Patin Dyke Rd Ventress, LA  70783
The Bluffs 14233 Sunrise Way, St. Francisville, LA  70775 www.thebluffs.com

 

Websites of interest:

AnglerWeb – Fishing Information – www.anglerweb.com/fishingspots/FishingSpotDetails.aspx?locationid=7563

Baton Rouge Informationwww.visitbatonrouge.com

City of New Roads www.newroads.net

Discover Our Town – Information about New Roads – www.discoverourtown.com/LA/New Roads

Louisiana Sportsman Information on Fishing and Huntingwww.louisianasportsman.com/details.php?id=93

Louisiana Office of Tourism -Information about Louisiana parks, plantations, and more – www.crt.state.la.us

Pointe Coupee Chamber of Commercewww.pcchamber.org

Pointe Coupee Parish – Information on Pointe Coupee Parish, its history and other interesting facts – http://pctourism.org